What changed, and in whom?
Compare findings, not compound rankings.
| Compound & outcome | Population / model & source scope | Finding & magnitude | Limits & adverse findings |
|---|---|---|---|
| TB-500Recovery2026-09-01 | Animal Population details are not extracted in this reading note. Open the source. Reading scope not recordedQuality appraisal separate | A product labeled TB-500 increased median tendon failure load versus control in repaired rat Achilles tendons. Combining it with BPC-157 did not outperform the separate treatments. Open source | Very small groups; product identity and the rat model limit translation. This is not evidence of improved human recovery. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| BPC-157Recovery2026-09-01 | Animal Population details are not extracted in this reading note. Open the source. Reading scope not recordedQuality appraisal separate | In a small repaired-rat-Achilles experiment, combining BPC-157 with a product labeled TB-500 did not outperform separate treatment. The BPC-157 versus control mechanical comparison was not significant after adjustment. Open source | Small groups and one injury model limit the conclusion. A nonsignificant result does not settle all questions about the compound. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| MOTS-cMuscle & strength · Body composition2026-05-25 | Animal Population details are not extracted in this reading note. Open the source. Reading scope not recordedQuality appraisal separate | In a C26 cancer-cachexia mouse model, MOTS-c preserved quadriceps mass relative to vehicle, without preventing overall body-weight loss. Open source | A cancer-cachexia mouse model does not predict muscle gain in healthy people or effects during GLP-1 treatment. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| RetatrutideWeight loss2026-05-21 | Human 80 weeks; 12 mg; efficacy analysis; sponsor topline report. Treatment-regimen estimate: 25.0%. Sponsor report, not a peer-reviewed publicationQuality appraisal separate | 28.3% reported weight reduction Lilly reported 28.3% average weight reduction at 80 weeks for 12 mg using the efficacy analysis; the treatment-regimen analysis reported 25.0%. Open source | Sponsor-reported topline results. Different analysis assumptions produce different estimates; this was not a direct tirzepatide comparison. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| SLU-PP-915Endurance & energy2025-12-01 | Animal Population details are not extracted in this reading note. Open the source. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | A chemically distinct ERR agonist showed oral activity and enhanced aerobic exercise capacity in preclinical experiments. Open source | Preclinical oral activity does not establish human oral exposure or clinical benefit, and does not make 915 interchangeable with 332. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| TirzepatideWeight loss · Body composition2025-05-11 | Human 72 weeks; maximum tolerated tirzepatide 10/15 mg versus semaglutide 1.7/2.4 mg; adults without diabetes. Reading scope not recordedQuality appraisal separate | 20.2% weight reduction Average body-weight reduction was 20.2% with tirzepatide and 13.7% with semaglutide at 72 weeks. Open source | Adults with obesity without diabetes; open-label trial. It does not compare all doses or establish an overall winner for every health outcome. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| SemaglutideWeight loss · Body composition2025-05-11 | Human 72 weeks; maximum tolerated semaglutide 1.7/2.4 mg versus tirzepatide 10/15 mg; adults without diabetes. Reading scope not recordedQuality appraisal separate | 13.7% weight reduction Participants assigned semaglutide lost an average of 13.7% of body weight at 72 weeks, versus 20.2% with tirzepatide. Open source | This result applies to the studied regimens and population. Weight change does not establish preservation of muscle or long-term cardiovascular benefit. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| TirzepatideBody composition · Lean mass · Muscle & strength2025-02-25 | Human SURMOUNT-1 DXA substudy: 124 tirzepatide and 36 placebo participants; 72 weeks. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | 10.9% lean-mass reduction At 72 weeks, fat mass fell 33.9% and lean mass 10.9% with pooled tirzepatide doses, versus 8.2% and 2.6% with placebo. About a quarter of the weight lost was lean mass in both groups. Open source | DXA lean mass is not a direct measure of contractile muscle or strength. This was a 160-person substudy, not the full randomized population. Both fat and lean mass declined. These results do not establish muscle preservation. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| SeletracetamCognition2025 | Human 27 evaluable adults, with 36 exposures because nine returned for another dose. Single oral doses of 0.5, 1, 2, 4, 10 or 20 mg followed a placebo day. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | Complete suppression of the light-triggered EEG response occurred in 40–71% of patients, increasing with dose. Open source | Single-blind, short-term laboratory response study. Repeated exposures are not independent participants; EEG suppression does not establish cognitive enhancement or long-term clinical benefit. Single-blind, short-term laboratory response study. Repeated exposures are not independent participants; EEG suppression does not establish cognitive enhancement or long-term clinical benefit. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| TestosteroneHealth tradeoffs2023-12 | Human Topical gel versus placebo; 5,204 men analyzed. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | High-grade prostate cancer occurred in 5 of 2,596 testosterone-treated men and 3 of 2,602 placebo-treated men. The difference was not statistically significant; PSA rose more with testosterone. Open source | Participants at high prostate-cancer risk were excluded. Few events and limited follow-up constrain precision. This is a TRAVERSE analysis, sharing its registration with the cardiovascular report. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| RetatrutideWeight loss · Body composition2023-06-26 | Human 48 weeks; highest-dose group, 12 mg; randomized phase 2 trial, 338 adults. Reading scope not recordedQuality appraisal separate | 24.2% weight reduction The highest-dose group lost an average of 24.2% of body weight at 48 weeks, versus 2.1% with placebo. Open source | This is a separate trial from SURMOUNT-5. Its percentages cannot establish superiority to tirzepatide or semaglutide. Gastrointestinal events and heart-rate increases were reported. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| TestosteroneHeart & metabolic health · Health tradeoffs · Hormones & delivery2023-06-16 | Human 1.62% gel targeting 350–750 ng/dL; mean treatment 21.7 months, follow-up 33 months. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | The primary cardiovascular event occurred in 7.0% with testosterone and 7.3% with placebo. The trial met its prespecified noninferiority criterion. Open source | 5,246 men aged 45–80 with low testosterone and existing or increased cardiovascular risk. Results do not establish safety at higher exposures or across all formulations. Atrial fibrillation, acute kidney injury and pulmonary embolism occurred more often in the testosterone group. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| SLU-PP-332Endurance & energy · Muscle & strength2023-03-29 | Animal Mouse and cell experiments; not a human intervention trial. Reading scope not recordedQuality appraisal separate | ERR activation increased respiration in muscle cells and improved running endurance in mice. Open source | Human exposure, effectiveness and safety are unresolved by this experiment. Exercise-like signaling does not establish human muscle growth. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| KW-6356Cognition2023 | Human 168 patients in a randomized, double-blind trial: oral KW-6356 3 mg or 6 mg once daily versus placebo for 12 weeks. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | The primary motor-examination score improved by 5.37 points with 3 mg, 4.76 with 6 mg and 3.14 with placebo. Constipation occurred in 7.3% and 10.3% of the active-dose groups. Open source | This is disease-specific motor-function research, not a healthy-person focus or motivation trial. The abstract does not demonstrate disease modification. This is disease-specific motor-function research, not a healthy-person focus or motivation trial. The abstract does not demonstrate disease modification. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| Urolithin AEndurance & energy · Muscle & strength2022-01-20 | Human Population details are not extracted in this reading note. Open the source. Reading scope not recordedQuality appraisal separate | A randomized trial in older adults found improvements in muscle-endurance measures; between-group differences in the primary walking-distance and ATP-production endpoints were not significant. Open source | A selective positive endpoint cannot stand in for success across all outcomes or populations. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| SemaglutideWeight loss2022-01-11 | Human 338 adults; semaglutide 2.4 mg weekly versus liraglutide 3 mg daily. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | 15.8% weight reduction Mean weight reduction was 15.8% with semaglutide and 6.4% with liraglutide at 68 weeks. Open source | Open-label comparison in adults without diabetes; other doses and outcomes need separate evidence. Gastrointestinal events were common in both groups. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| LiraglutideWeight loss2022-01-11 | Human Daily liraglutide 3 mg versus weekly semaglutide 2.4 mg. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | 6.4% weight reduction Mean weight reduction was 6.4%, versus 15.8% with semaglutide at 68 weeks. Open source | These results apply to the tested regimens in adults without diabetes. Treatment discontinuation for any reason: 27.6% versus 13.5% with semaglutide. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| DaridorexantCognition & sleep2022 | Human Two randomized trials enrolled 930 and 924 adults. Daridorexant 50/25 mg or 25/10 mg, respectively, was compared with placebo each evening for three months. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | In trial 1, 50 mg reduced overnight wakefulness by 18.3 minutes and time to persistent sleep by 11.7 minutes versus placebo at month three. Daytime sleepiness, a secondary outcome, also improved. The 10 mg group did not meet the reported efficacy tests; 25 mg did not significantly improve daytime sleepiness. Open source | This is a selected trial summary, not a full literature review or formal quality appraisal. Adverse-event rates were broadly similar; headache and nasopharyngitis were common. One death was judged unrelated to treatment. Three-month, sponsor-funded trials do not establish comparative superiority over other sleep medicines. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| BimagrumabBody composition · Lean mass · Muscle & strength · Weight loss2021-01 | Human 48 weeks; IV bimagrumab every 4 weeks, with diet and exercise counseling in both groups. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | At 48 weeks, fat mass changed by −20.5% with bimagrumab versus −0.5% with placebo; lean mass changed by +3.6% versus −0.8%. Open source | 75 adults with type 2 diabetes and overweight or obesity were randomized; 58 completed. This was not a GLP combination trial and does not establish preserved strength. The report analyzed treatment completers, which can affect interpretation. The abstract provides limited adverse-event detail. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| BAM15Weight loss · Heart & metabolic health2020-05-13 | Animal Population details are not extracted in this reading note. Open the source. Reading scope not recordedQuality appraisal separate | BAM15 increased nutrient oxidation and reduced adiposity in a diet-induced obesity mouse model. Open source | The efficacy and exposure window in mice does not establish a safe or effective human intervention. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| 9-ME-BCCognition2020 | Cell / tissue Cell-culture and enzyme experiments. Half-maximal enzyme inhibition occurred at 1 µM for MAO-A and 15.5 µM for MAO-B; these are assay concentrations, not human doses. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | Neurotrophic-factor gene expression increased in astrocytes, with evidence implicating PI3K signaling. The compound also inhibited monoamine oxidase activity. Open source | Cell findings cannot establish human recovery, cognition or safety. The abstract does not supply a clinical regimen or participant sample. Cell findings cannot establish human recovery, cognition or safety. The abstract does not supply a clinical regimen or participant sample. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| LevetiracetamCognition2020 | Human Nine patients completed a randomized crossover study comparing levetiracetam 1,500 mg with brivaracetam 100 mg as 5- or 15-minute intravenous infusions. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | Both suppressed the light-triggered EEG response. Combined analysis favored faster suppression with brivaracetam; separate infusion-duration comparisons were not statistically significant. Open source | A small laboratory EEG endpoint study, not a long-term seizure-outcome or cognition trial. No serious or severe adverse effects occurred. A small laboratory EEG endpoint study, not a long-term seizure-outcome or cognition trial. No serious or severe adverse effects occurred. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| BrivaracetamCognition2020 | Human Nine patients completed the crossover trial: intravenous brivaracetam 100 mg versus levetiracetam 1,500 mg, using 5- or 15-minute infusions. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | Median response-suppression times were 2 versus 7.5 minutes. Combined analysis favored brivaracetam, but the two separate infusion-duration comparisons were nonsignificant. Open source | The authors call for clinical-outcome studies. This does not demonstrate superior cognition or long-term seizure control. The authors call for clinical-outcome studies. This does not demonstrate superior cognition or long-term seizure control. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| LemborexantCognition & sleep2020 | Human SUNRISE 2 analyzed 949 treated adults with insomnia, comparing oral lemborexant 5 or 10 mg with placebo over six months. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | Both doses improved self-reported sleep onset, overnight wakefulness, sleep efficiency and sleep quality versus placebo at month six. Most adverse events were mild or moderate; serious events were uncommon and no deaths occurred. Open source | Sleep diaries were used. The following six months had active treatment only, so this is not a 12-month placebo-controlled comparison. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| LemborexantSleep & insomnia2019 | Human 1,006 adults aged 55–88 with insomnia. Lemborexant 5 or 10 mg, zolpidem extended release 6.25 mg, or placebo at bedtime for one month. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | Both lemborexant doses improved the primary sleep-onset measure versus placebo. Secondary overnight wake time improved by 24.0 and 25.4 minutes versus placebo. Second-half-of-night wake time improved by 6.7 and 8.0 minutes versus zolpidem. Open source | One-month trial, predominantly women. No treatment-related serious adverse events were reported; most other events were mild or moderate. These results do not establish benefit in people without insomnia. One-month trial, predominantly women. No treatment-related serious adverse events were reported; most other events were mild or moderate. These results do not establish benefit in people without insomnia. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| NSI-189Cognition2019 | Human 220 adults with major depressive disorder randomized to oral NSI-189 40 mg daily, 80 mg daily or placebo for 12 weeks. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | Neither dose significantly improved the primary clinician-rated depression outcome versus placebo. Some secondary self-report and cognitive measures favored 40 mg, but the Cogstate cognitive test did not. Both doses were described as well tolerated. Open source | Secondary signals do not reverse the negative primary result. Findings in depression do not establish enhancement in healthy adults. Secondary signals do not reverse the negative primary result. Findings in depression do not establish enhancement in healthy adults. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| J-147Cognition2018 | Animal Mechanistic research including cells, mice and fruit flies. The abstract does not report dose, sample sizes or duration. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | Researchers linked J147 to ATP-synthase and AMPK/mTOR signaling, changes in age-related molecular patterns in mice, and longer lifespan in fruit flies. Open source | These are preclinical outcomes. They do not establish human lifespan extension, Alzheimer treatment efficacy or a human dosing protocol. These are preclinical outcomes. They do not establish human lifespan extension, Alzheimer treatment efficacy or a human dosing protocol. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| FasoracetamCognition2018 | Human 30 adolescents aged 12–17. One placebo week preceded four weeks of symptom-guided dosing up to 400 mg twice daily; single-dose pharmacokinetics examined 50–800 mg. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | Clinical severity and improvement scores improved. Adverse-event incidence did not differ between the placebo week and active-treatment weeks. Open source | Small, genetically selected sample with an open-label/single-blind sequential design. It is not a parallel randomized efficacy trial or evidence for healthy adults. Small, genetically selected sample with an open-label/single-blind sequential design. It is not a parallel randomized efficacy trial or evidence for healthy adults. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| 5-Amino-1MQWeight loss · Heart & metabolic health2017-11-15 | Animal Population details are not extracted in this reading note. Open the source. Reading scope not recordedQuality appraisal separate | 5-Amino-1MQ inhibited NNMT in adipocytes; treatment reduced body weight and adiposity in a high-fat-diet mouse model. Open source | The mouse findings do not establish human fat loss, oral exposure or a predictable human effect size. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| TestosteroneCognition & sleep · Mood & sexual function2017-02-21 | Human Daily gel versus placebo for 1 year; men aged 65 or older. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | In the 493-person memory-impaired subgroup, testosterone did not significantly improve verbal memory, visual memory, executive function or spatial ability versus placebo. Open source | Older men with low testosterone and age-associated memory impairment; this does not resolve every cognitive question in younger adults. This report shares the Testosterone Trials registration with other reports; it is not an independent trial population. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| TestosteroneMood & sexual function · Endurance & energy2016-02-18 | Human Testosterone gel versus placebo for 1 year, titrated toward young-adult normal levels. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | Sexual activity, desire and erectile function improved. Mood improved slightly, but the primary fatigue measure showed no significant benefit. Open source | 790 symptomatic men aged 65 or older with low testosterone. Results do not predict responses in younger men or at higher exposures. The study was too small to settle uncommon safety outcomes. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| SuvorexantCognition & sleep2016 | Human Two trials randomized 1,021 and 1,019 adults. Nightly suvorexant doses were 20 or 40 mg for ages 18–64 and 15 or 30 mg for ages 65 and older, versus placebo for three months. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | The 20/15 mg groups improved reported total sleep time and laboratory overnight wakefulness at all assessed time points. Sleep-onset measures improved at most, but not all, time points. Fewer than 5% discontinued because of adverse events. Open source | This is a selected trial summary, not a full literature review or formal quality appraisal. The trials primarily focused on the higher 40/30 mg groups, with fewer participants assigned to 20/15 mg. These historical study doses are not a prescribing recommendation or a direct comparison with Dayvigo. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| CerebrolysinCognition2016 | Human Randomized, double-blind trial after stroke: 30 mL daily or saline for 21 days, starting 24–72 hours after stroke, alongside rehabilitation. Sample size and route are not stated in the abstract. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | The primary arm-function score at day 90 favored Cerebrolysin. Global outcomes also favored treatment, and reported safety was comparable with placebo. Open source | The authors describe an exploratory, relatively small study requiring larger confirmation. Stroke rehabilitation findings do not establish cognitive enhancement in healthy people. The authors describe an exploratory, relatively small study requiring larger confirmation. Stroke rehabilitation findings do not establish cognitive enhancement in healthy people. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| NefiracetamCognition2016 | Human 13 patients randomized in a double-blind trial to nefiracetam 900 mg daily or placebo for 12 weeks. Route is not specified in the abstract. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | The primary apathy outcome did not differ significantly between groups at 12 weeks. Open source | The authors identify the very small randomized sample as the main limitation. This null trial does not prove equivalence, and it does not support healthy-person enhancement. The authors identify the very small randomized sample as the main limitation. This null trial does not prove equivalence, and it does not support healthy-person enhancement. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| DihexaCognition2014 | Animal Mechanistic cell experiments and a spatial-learning water-maze experiment with orally delivered dihexa. Species, sample size, dose and treatment duration are not specified in the abstract. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | Dihexa enhanced HGF-dependent signaling and synapse-related changes. Blocking HGF or c-Met disrupted these effects; an HGF antagonist blocked the reported spatial-learning effect. Open source | Mechanism and animal behavior are not demonstrated human cognitive benefit. The abstract does not establish a human dose or safety profile. Mechanism and animal behavior are not demonstrated human cognitive benefit. The abstract does not establish a human dose or safety profile. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| P021Cognition2014 | Animal Female transgenic Alzheimer-model and wild-type mice received P021 or vehicle diet for 12 months, beginning at 9–10 months of age. Dose and sample size are not stated in the abstract. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | Treatment reduced abnormal tau changes and soluble amyloid-beta and improved measured cognition and synaptic plasticity. Plaque reduction was a trend rather than a demonstrated significant effect. Open source | Mouse disease-model findings do not establish human benefit or a human dose. The proposed BDNF pathway explanation remains mechanistic interpretation. Mouse disease-model findings do not establish human benefit or a human dose. The proposed BDNF pathway explanation remains mechanistic interpretation. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| PhenylpiracetamCognition2014 | Human 90 patients in a double-blind, randomized, placebo-controlled add-on study. Reported doses were 100 or 200 mg; schedule, route and duration are not stated in the English abstract. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | The report describes lower seizure frequency and improved cognition in patients without epileptiform EEG abnormalities. It did not reduce negative effects of standard antiseizure treatment in 40% of patients. Open source | The abstract does not give numerical between-group effect sizes. Add-on epilepsy findings do not establish general cognitive enhancement. The abstract does not give numerical between-group effect sizes. Add-on epilepsy findings do not establish general cognitive enhancement. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| TestosteroneBody composition · Hormones & delivery · Mood & sexual function2013-09-12 | Human 400 men across two cohorts; 16 weeks; gel and controlled suppression. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | Under experimental hormone suppression, androgen deficiency accounted for loss of lean mass, muscle size and strength. Estrogen deficiency mainly accounted for increased body fat; both contributed to reduced sexual function. Open source | Healthy men received hormone suppression and graded gel doses, with or without anastrozole. This does not define an optimal estradiol target during routine treatment. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| YK-11Muscle & strength2013-09 | Cell / tissue Population details are not extracted in this reading note. Open the source. Reading scope not recordedQuality appraisal separate | In mouse-derived C2C12 cells, YK11 increased follistatin expression and myogenic differentiation. Blocking follistatin reduced that response. Open source | Cell differentiation is not a measured increase in human muscle mass or strength. Exposure and downstream effects in people remain separate questions. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| TestosteroneMuscle & strength · Hormones & delivery2012-03-07 | Human Healthy men aged 18–50; 20 weeks of graded testosterone enanthate with dutasteride or placebo. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | Fat-free mass and strength responses to graded testosterone did not differ significantly when DHT production was suppressed with dutasteride. Open source | 139 men were randomized and 102 completed. This suppression study does not test whether adding DHT improves cognition, motivation or muscle growth. A nonsignificant difference is not proof that DHT has no physiological role or that blocking it has no tradeoffs. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| DoxepinCognition & sleep2010 | Human 240 older adults with chronic primary insomnia were randomized to doxepin 1 mg (77), 3 mg (82), or placebo (81) nightly for 12 weeks. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | The 3 mg dose improved the primary first-night wake-time-after-sleep-onset endpoint; sleep-maintenance benefits remained at night 85. Some outcomes also improved with 1 mg. Safety profiles were comparable, with no significant next-day residual effects detected. Open source | This is a selected trial summary, not a full literature review or formal quality appraisal. Older adults with primary insomnia, followed for 12 weeks. Results do not establish safety of higher doses or exclude uncommon adverse events. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| BromantaneCognition2010 | Human 728 patients with psychoautonomic syndrome and asthenic disorders were analyzed across 28 Russian centers. Ladasten 50–100 mg daily for 28 days, with follow-up one month later; route is not specified in the abstract. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | Symptoms and quality-of-life scores improved. Adverse effects were reported in 3%, and 0.8% discontinued treatment; no serious adverse effects were reported. Open source | No concurrent control group is described in this abstract. Improvement does not establish a placebo-adjusted effect or benefit for healthy users. No concurrent control group is described in this abstract. Improvement does not establish a placebo-adjusted effect or benefit for healthy users. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| RamelteonCognition & sleep2009 | Human 451 adults with chronic primary insomnia were randomized to ramelteon 8 mg or placebo, 30 minutes before bedtime nightly for six months. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | Laboratory-measured sleep onset improved at every reported treatment assessment. Patient-reported sleep onset improved at week 1, month 1 and month 5, but was not statistically significant at months 3 and 6. Most adverse events were mild or moderate. Open source | This is a selected trial summary, not a full literature review or formal quality appraisal. Objective and subjective findings differed. No next-morning residual effects, rebound or withdrawal were detected in this trial; that does not establish their absence in all users. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| IbutamorenBody composition · Lean mass · Muscle & strength2008-11-04 | Human 65 adults aged 60–81; randomized, placebo-controlled study. Reading scope not recordedQuality appraisal separate | A randomized trial in older adults increased GH, IGF-1 and fat-free mass, without improving strength or physical function. Open source | Older adults differ from young trained athletes; appetite, edema and glucose-related effects matter to interpretation. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| ZolpidemCognition & sleep2008 | Human 1,018 adults aged 18–64 received zolpidem extended-release 12.5 mg (669 participants) or placebo (349), on three to seven nights weekly for 24 weeks in a randomized, double-blind trial. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | At week 12, the primary patient-rated sleep-help outcome was favorable in 89.8% versus 51.4%. Sleep onset and maintenance reports also improved. Common adverse events included headache, anxiety and sleepiness. Open source | This is a selected trial summary, not a full literature review or formal quality appraisal. Patient-reported outcomes in adults under 65; these findings are formulation-specific. The historical trial dose is not a current starting-dose recommendation. Separate FDA warnings address serious complex sleep behaviors. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| MelatoninCognition & sleep2007 | Human 354 adults aged 55–80 with insomnia were randomized to prolonged-release melatonin 2 mg or placebo, one tablet daily two hours before bedtime for three weeks. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | Combined improvement in sleep quality and morning alertness occurred in 26% versus 15%. Reported time to fall asleep fell by 24.3 minutes versus 12.9 minutes with placebo. Open source | This is a selected trial summary, not a full literature review or formal quality appraisal. Short trial in older adults using one formulation. Findings do not establish the effects of immediate-release products, higher doses or treatment in younger people. The abstract does not provide detailed adverse-event rates. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| EszopicloneCognition & sleep2003 | Human 788 adults aged 21–69 with primary insomnia were randomized to eszopiclone 3 mg (593 participants) or placebo (195) nightly for six months. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | Patient reports of sleep onset, overnight wakefulness, sleep duration and quality improved versus placebo throughout follow-up. Daytime function ratings also improved. Unpleasant taste and headache were the most common adverse events. Open source | This is a selected trial summary, not a full literature review or formal quality appraisal. Outcomes were reported through a voice-response system. No tolerance signal in this trial does not establish freedom from dependence or rare harms. Separate FDA warnings address serious complex sleep behaviors. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| TestosteroneMuscle & strength · Body composition · Lean mass · Hormones & delivery2001-12 | Human 20 weeks; weekly enanthate with a GnRH agonist. These are experimental regimens. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | Across graded testosterone exposures, fat-free mass, muscle size and strength increased with dose. Mood and sexual function did not significantly change at any dose. Open source | 61 healthy men aged 18–35; endogenous production was suppressed. Short-term group averages cannot predict an individual response. Hemoglobin increased and HDL cholesterol decreased with higher concentrations. Fat-free mass includes more than muscle. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| ColuracetamCognition1994 | Animal AF64A-treated mice received oral MKC-231 at 0.3, 1 or 3 mg/kg once daily for 11 days. Acute administration and other nootropic agents were also examined. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | Repeated treatment improved working-memory performance at all tested doses. Acute administration did not significantly improve memory at the tested doses. Some repeated doses reversed hippocampal acetylcholine depletion. Open source | A toxin-induced mouse model does not establish a human regimen, clinical efficacy or safety. A toxin-induced mouse model does not establish a human regimen, clinical efficacy or safety. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| PiracetamCognition1991 | Human Single-blind comparison of piracetam, oxiracetam and placebo in older adults. Dose, sample size and duration are not reported in the abstract. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | The authors reported improvements in clinical and neurophysiological measures, with larger effects for oxiracetam than piracetam. Open source | The sparse abstract supplies no effect sizes or usable regimen. Single blinding and a disease population limit conclusions about healthy-person cognitive enhancement. The sparse abstract supplies no effect sizes or usable regimen. Single blinding and a disease population limit conclusions about healthy-person cognitive enhancement. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| AniracetamCognition1991 | Human 60 patients, mean age about 70 years, received oral aniracetam 1,500 mg daily or placebo. Cognitive assessments were performed at two and four months. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | Scores improved in the aniracetam group at both follow-ups; the placebo group showed no statistically significant change. Open source | The abstract does not provide effect sizes or a detailed adverse-event account. This small older clinical population does not establish benefit in healthy users. The abstract does not provide effect sizes or a detailed adverse-event account. This small older clinical population does not establish benefit in healthy users. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| PramiracetamCognition1991 | Human Double-blind placebo-controlled research in males with brain injury used pramiracetam sulphate 400 mg three times daily. The abstract does not state sample size or the controlled-phase duration. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | Memory, especially delayed recall, improved compared with placebo. Improvement persisted during an 18-month open-treatment extension and one month after discontinuation. Open source | The extension was open treatment. The sparse abstract does not establish healthy-person benefit or a comprehensive safety profile. The extension was open treatment. The sparse abstract does not establish healthy-person benefit or a comprehensive safety profile. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| OxiracetamCognition1987 | Human 40 outpatients randomized in a double-blind trial to oxiracetam 800 mg twice daily or placebo for 90 days. Route is not specified in the abstract. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | Several cognitive tests and instrumental daily-living measures favored oxiracetam. No side effects were observed in this trial. Open source | A 40-person trial cannot establish uncommon or long-term risks. Dementia findings do not establish healthy-person enhancement; L-oxiracetam studies concern a specific stereoisomer. A 40-person trial cannot establish uncommon or long-term risks. Dementia findings do not establish healthy-person enhancement; L-oxiracetam studies concern a specific stereoisomer. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
| RolziracetamCognition1987 | Animal Chemical-series experiments included animal amnesia tests and a delayed-response task in aged rhesus monkeys. The abstract does not report a usable dose or sample size. Abstract reviewedQuality appraisal separate | Rolziracetam improved performance in the monkey delayed-response task and was selected for subsequent human evaluation. Open source | Selection for human evaluation is not a human efficacy result. The reviewed abstract does not establish a clinical regimen or human safety. Selection for human evaluation is not a human efficacy result. The reviewed abstract does not establish a clinical regimen or human safety. Missing safety information is not a finding of safety. |
Understand the evidence types
Read the model and design first, then the population, outcome and limitations. These categories describe evidence, not a best-compound ranking.
- Randomized human trials
- Compare assigned interventions. Randomization does not by itself establish low bias or relevance to every population.
- Controlled human studies
- Use a comparison group; allocation and confounding still matter.
- Prospective human research
- Follows participants forward. It may be observational or interventional, so this is not a separate quality grade.
- Observational human research
- Describes associations. Confounding can explain differences.
- Case reports and series
- Useful for unusual events and safety signals, not reliable rates or effect sizes.
- Animal research
- Can test biology and function in a living model. Human exposure, benefit and safety remain separate questions.
- Cell and tissue research
- Tests responses in a preparation, including human-derived cells. It is not a human participant trial.
- Mechanistic and computational evidence
- Helps explain or predict a pathway; predictions need experimental and clinical testing.
- Anecdotal reports
- Self-reported experiences can generate questions. Product identity, selection bias and other interventions may be uncontrolled.
Systematic reviews synthesize studies and depend on their quality. Preprint status and abstract versus full-paper reading are separate labels. Citation popularity measures attention, not reliability. A study summary is not a formal quality appraisal.
Keep the evidence dimensions separate
Use the full archive for citation popularity and recency. This map provides model, context, findings and limits from prepared notes. Mechanistic interpretations and community experiences remain in their own views. Neither interest nor plausibility establishes human effectiveness.