PEDEvidence

Phenylpiracetam

What it is & what research shows

Study example available

Phenylpiracetam, also called fonturacetam or Phenotropil, is a racetam with human neurological research. The research below distinguishes observed findings from interpretation. [1.1]

Selected human research: 90 patients in a double-blind, randomized, placebo-controlled add-on study. Reported doses were 100 or 200 mg; schedule, route and duration are not stated in the English abstract. The report describes lower seizure frequency and improved cognition in patients without epileptiform EEG abnormalities. It did not reduce negative effects of standard antiseizure treatment in 40% of patients. The abstract does not give numerical between-group effect sizes. Add-on epilepsy findings do not establish general cognitive enhancement. The abstract does not give numerical between-group effect sizes. Add-on epilepsy findings do not establish general cognitive enhancement. [2.1]

Studied methods, not dosing advice. Selected evidence, not a complete literature review or formal quality appraisal.
Sources & reading scope

Study-summary coverage

No completed study summaries are linked to this compound page yet. This is a coverage gap on PED Evidence, not evidence that human studies or other research do not exist.

Filter, save and compare Phenylpiracetam studies →

Selected study reading notes

Source-linked summaries with studied methods. These are separate from the automated summary counts above and are not formal quality appraisals.

Human

Phenylpiracetam: what does this study show?

90 patients in a double-blind, randomized, placebo-controlled add-on study. Reported doses were 100 or 200 mg; schedule, route and duration are not stated in the English abstract.

Demonstrated findings

The report describes lower seizure frequency and improved cognition in patients without epileptiform EEG abnormalities. It did not reduce negative effects of standard antiseizure treatment in 40% of patients.

Limitations & adverse findings

The abstract does not give numerical between-group effect sizes. Add-on epilepsy findings do not establish general cognitive enhancement.

What might this mean? · interpretation

These findings apply to the population and methods described above.

What might this mean, and what would change the interpretation?

The abstract does not give numerical between-group effect sizes. Add-on epilepsy findings do not establish general cognitive enhancement.

What would clarify this: Independent replication with clinically meaningful outcomes and longer safety follow-up.

Findings reviewed · abstract

Checked Sep 23, 2026 against the linked abstract. This reading note is not a formal risk-of-bias appraisal.

More about Phenylpiracetam: identity, safety & reference details
Small moleculeBrain & cognition
Primary research area
Neurological & cognitive research
Regulatory status
See compound-specific sources
Evidence level
Human research · indication-specific
Primary mechanism
See the source-linked compound overview
Reference profile available · Coverage varies by section

Also known as Fonturacetam · Carphedon

What has been observed?

Selected source-linked reading notes, not the complete literature or a pooled conclusion.

Human · Abstract reviewed

Phenylpiracetam: what does this study show?

90 patients in a double-blind, randomized, placebo-controlled add-on study. Reported doses were 100 or 200 mg; schedule, route and duration are not stated in the English abstract.

The report describes lower seizure frequency and improved cognition in patients without epileptiform EEG abnormalities. It did not reduce negative effects of standard antiseizure treatment in 40% of patients.

Limits & adverse findings: The abstract does not give numerical between-group effect sizes. Add-on epilepsy findings do not establish general cognitive enhancement. The abstract does not give numerical between-group effect sizes. Add-on epilepsy findings do not establish general cognitive enhancement.

Open primary source · Read interpretation separately
Explore outcomes for this compound
Uses & research

The research below distinguishes observed findings from interpretation. [1]

Known half-life

No source-verified value in this profile yet. A treatment schedule or duration of an effect is not a drug half-life.

Half-life describes how quickly the measured drug concentration falls by half. It does not set a dosing interval.
Evidence & important limits

The abstract does not give numerical between-group effect sizes. Add-on epilepsy findings do not establish general cognitive enhancement. [1]

Safety & evidence boundaries

Source-specific information, not a personal safety clearance or monitoring plan.

The abstract does not give numerical between-group effect sizes. Add-on epilepsy findings do not establish general cognitive enhancement.

Human study: The abstract does not give numerical between-group effect sizes. Add-on epilepsy findings do not establish general cognitive enhancement. Source

Explore safety questions by system

These are literature filters, not claims that this compound causes each effect. A keyword match is not a confirmed adverse reaction.

Interactions, rare harms, long-term effects and reversibility require separate evidence. Do not infer they are absent when the sources here do not address them.

Identity, names & formulations

Canonical compound: Phenylpiracetam · phenylpiracetam

Searchable names: Fonturacetam, Carphedon

Names share a parent research page. Different esters, salts, routes and brands are not assumed to have the same half-life, indication or exposure.

Combination evidence stays attached to the studied combination. It is not automatically assigned to each ingredient.

Understand the evidence types

Read the model and design first, then the population, outcome and limitations. These categories describe evidence, not a best-compound ranking.

Randomized human trials
Compare assigned interventions. Randomization does not by itself establish low bias or relevance to every population.
Controlled human studies
Use a comparison group; allocation and confounding still matter.
Prospective human research
Follows participants forward. It may be observational or interventional, so this is not a separate quality grade.
Observational human research
Describes associations. Confounding can explain differences.
Case reports and series
Useful for unusual events and safety signals, not reliable rates or effect sizes.
Animal research
Can test biology and function in a living model. Human exposure, benefit and safety remain separate questions.
Cell and tissue research
Tests responses in a preparation, including human-derived cells. It is not a human participant trial.
Mechanistic and computational evidence
Helps explain or predict a pathway; predictions need experimental and clinical testing.
Anecdotal reports
Self-reported experiences can generate questions. Product identity, selection bias and other interventions may be uncontrolled.

Systematic reviews synthesize studies and depend on their quality. Preprint status and abstract versus full-paper reading are separate labels. Citation popularity measures attention, not reliability. A study summary is not a formal quality appraisal.

Sources for this profile

  1. 1. Phenotropil as add-on therapy in locally induced epilepsy Human · primary publication abstract

Reference facts checked 2026-09-23. Source scope is listed above; this is not a formal quality appraisal. See each label for full prescribing information.

Browse all studies

Study model describes the source. Confidence depends on methods, replication, population and outcome.

Loading compound research…