PEDEvidence@pedevidence

SOURCE-LINKED STUDY SUMMARY

Semaglutide and Nonarteritic Anterior Ischemic Optic Neuropathy: Notoriety Bias or True Ocular Toxicity?

PPR ·

Preprint

Abstract summarizedQuality not appraised
What was studied
Researchers examined whether reports linking semaglutide to a type of optic-nerve injury reflected reporting patterns or drug effects.
Who / model studied
They analysed US adverse-event reports from 2018 through the second quarter of 2026 and genetic proxies for GLP-1 receptor activity. Report and genetic sample sizes are not stated.
Studied dose & schedule
Dose and schedule have not yet been extracted for this summary.
What the study found
Reporting increased after a July 2024 publication, while comparator reporting stayed stable. The genetic-proxy analysis found no statistically clear effect on the examined eye measures. The authors interpreted these patterns as reporting bias; adverse-report frequency is not a measured incidence rate among treated patients.
Limitations & context
Study limitations were not stated in the abstract. Methodological quality has not been appraised.

Read summary source ↗ · Prepared 9/15/2026 · AI-assisted, source-based summary

Review record & corrections

Summary prepared: . Source scope: abstract. This is an AI-assisted source summary, not an independent clinician sign-off.

No public field-by-field revision history is available for this card yet. The date above is the summary date, not proof that every field was updated then.

Inspect the source · Correction policy

Save, annotate or compare this study in the library →

Research findings apply to the population and conditions studied. This educational summary is not a treatment recommendation or a formal assessment of study quality.

Original publication ↗ · DOI: 10.64898/2026.09.06.26362369

Explore related compounds

Evidence and review standards

← All study summaries