Explore 12 racetams, from cognitive-impairment studies to antiseizure research. Human research is shown first; animal findings remain clearly labeled.
This is a selected primary-study collection, not an exhaustive review of every racetam or every trial. Antiseizure research does not establish cognitive enhancement.
Study summary cards
Primary-source abstracts reviewed September 23, 2026. Reading notes are not formal quality appraisals.
Single-blind comparison of piracetam, oxiracetam and placebo in older adults. Dose, sample size and duration are not reported in the abstract.
Demonstrated findings
The authors reported improvements in clinical and neurophysiological measures, with larger effects for oxiracetam than piracetam.
Limitations & adverse findings
The sparse abstract supplies no effect sizes or usable regimen. Single blinding and a disease population limit conclusions about healthy-person cognitive enhancement.
What might this mean? · interpretation
These findings apply to the population and methods described above.
What might this mean, and what would change the interpretation?
The sparse abstract supplies no effect sizes or usable regimen. Single blinding and a disease population limit conclusions about healthy-person cognitive enhancement.
What would clarify this: Independent replication with clinically meaningful outcomes and longer safety follow-up.
Findings reviewed · abstract
Checked Sep 23, 2026 against the linked abstract. This reading note is not a formal risk-of-bias appraisal.
60 patients, mean age about 70 years, received oral aniracetam 1,500 mg daily or placebo. Cognitive assessments were performed at two and four months.
Demonstrated findings
Scores improved in the aniracetam group at both follow-ups; the placebo group showed no statistically significant change.
Limitations & adverse findings
The abstract does not provide effect sizes or a detailed adverse-event account. This small older clinical population does not establish benefit in healthy users.
What might this mean? · interpretation
These findings apply to the population and methods described above.
What might this mean, and what would change the interpretation?
The abstract does not provide effect sizes or a detailed adverse-event account. This small older clinical population does not establish benefit in healthy users.
What would clarify this: Independent replication with clinically meaningful outcomes and longer safety follow-up.
Findings reviewed · abstract
Checked Sep 23, 2026 against the linked abstract. This reading note is not a formal risk-of-bias appraisal.
40 outpatients randomized in a double-blind trial to oxiracetam 800 mg twice daily or placebo for 90 days. Route is not specified in the abstract.
Demonstrated findings
Several cognitive tests and instrumental daily-living measures favored oxiracetam. No side effects were observed in this trial.
Limitations & adverse findings
A 40-person trial cannot establish uncommon or long-term risks. Dementia findings do not establish healthy-person enhancement; L-oxiracetam studies concern a specific stereoisomer.
What might this mean? · interpretation
These findings apply to the population and methods described above.
What might this mean, and what would change the interpretation?
A 40-person trial cannot establish uncommon or long-term risks. Dementia findings do not establish healthy-person enhancement; L-oxiracetam studies concern a specific stereoisomer.
What would clarify this: Independent replication with clinically meaningful outcomes and longer safety follow-up.
Findings reviewed · abstract
Checked Sep 23, 2026 against the linked abstract. This reading note is not a formal risk-of-bias appraisal.
90 patients in a double-blind, randomized, placebo-controlled add-on study. Reported doses were 100 or 200 mg; schedule, route and duration are not stated in the English abstract.
Demonstrated findings
The report describes lower seizure frequency and improved cognition in patients without epileptiform EEG abnormalities. It did not reduce negative effects of standard antiseizure treatment in 40% of patients.
Limitations & adverse findings
The abstract does not give numerical between-group effect sizes. Add-on epilepsy findings do not establish general cognitive enhancement.
What might this mean? · interpretation
These findings apply to the population and methods described above.
What might this mean, and what would change the interpretation?
The abstract does not give numerical between-group effect sizes. Add-on epilepsy findings do not establish general cognitive enhancement.
What would clarify this: Independent replication with clinically meaningful outcomes and longer safety follow-up.
Findings reviewed · abstract
Checked Sep 23, 2026 against the linked abstract. This reading note is not a formal risk-of-bias appraisal.
Double-blind placebo-controlled research in males with brain injury used pramiracetam sulphate 400 mg three times daily. The abstract does not state sample size or the controlled-phase duration.
Demonstrated findings
Memory, especially delayed recall, improved compared with placebo. Improvement persisted during an 18-month open-treatment extension and one month after discontinuation.
Limitations & adverse findings
The extension was open treatment. The sparse abstract does not establish healthy-person benefit or a comprehensive safety profile.
What might this mean? · interpretation
These findings apply to the population and methods described above.
What might this mean, and what would change the interpretation?
The extension was open treatment. The sparse abstract does not establish healthy-person benefit or a comprehensive safety profile.
What would clarify this: Independent replication with clinically meaningful outcomes and longer safety follow-up.
Findings reviewed · abstract
Checked Sep 23, 2026 against the linked abstract. This reading note is not a formal risk-of-bias appraisal.
30 adolescents aged 12–17. One placebo week preceded four weeks of symptom-guided dosing up to 400 mg twice daily; single-dose pharmacokinetics examined 50–800 mg.
Demonstrated findings
Clinical severity and improvement scores improved. Adverse-event incidence did not differ between the placebo week and active-treatment weeks.
Limitations & adverse findings
Small, genetically selected sample with an open-label/single-blind sequential design. It is not a parallel randomized efficacy trial or evidence for healthy adults.
What might this mean? · interpretation
These findings apply to the population and methods described above.
What might this mean, and what would change the interpretation?
Small, genetically selected sample with an open-label/single-blind sequential design. It is not a parallel randomized efficacy trial or evidence for healthy adults.
What would clarify this: Independent replication with clinically meaningful outcomes and longer safety follow-up.
Findings reviewed · abstract
Checked Sep 23, 2026 against the linked abstract. This reading note is not a formal risk-of-bias appraisal.
13 patients randomized in a double-blind trial to nefiracetam 900 mg daily or placebo for 12 weeks. Route is not specified in the abstract.
Demonstrated findings
The primary apathy outcome did not differ significantly between groups at 12 weeks.
Limitations & adverse findings
The authors identify the very small randomized sample as the main limitation. This null trial does not prove equivalence, and it does not support healthy-person enhancement.
What might this mean? · interpretation
These findings apply to the population and methods described above.
What might this mean, and what would change the interpretation?
The authors identify the very small randomized sample as the main limitation. This null trial does not prove equivalence, and it does not support healthy-person enhancement.
What would clarify this: Independent replication with clinically meaningful outcomes and longer safety follow-up.
Findings reviewed · abstract
Checked Sep 23, 2026 against the linked abstract. This reading note is not a formal risk-of-bias appraisal.
Nine patients completed a randomized crossover study comparing levetiracetam 1,500 mg with brivaracetam 100 mg as 5- or 15-minute intravenous infusions.
Demonstrated findings
Both suppressed the light-triggered EEG response. Combined analysis favored faster suppression with brivaracetam; separate infusion-duration comparisons were not statistically significant.
Limitations & adverse findings
A small laboratory EEG endpoint study, not a long-term seizure-outcome or cognition trial. No serious or severe adverse effects occurred.
What might this mean? · interpretation
These findings apply to the population and methods described above.
What might this mean, and what would change the interpretation?
A small laboratory EEG endpoint study, not a long-term seizure-outcome or cognition trial. No serious or severe adverse effects occurred.
What would clarify this: Independent replication with clinically meaningful outcomes and longer safety follow-up.
Findings reviewed · abstract
Checked Sep 23, 2026 against the linked abstract. This reading note is not a formal risk-of-bias appraisal.
Nine patients completed the crossover trial: intravenous brivaracetam 100 mg versus levetiracetam 1,500 mg, using 5- or 15-minute infusions.
Demonstrated findings
Median response-suppression times were 2 versus 7.5 minutes. Combined analysis favored brivaracetam, but the two separate infusion-duration comparisons were nonsignificant.
Limitations & adverse findings
The authors call for clinical-outcome studies. This does not demonstrate superior cognition or long-term seizure control.
What might this mean? · interpretation
These findings apply to the population and methods described above.
What might this mean, and what would change the interpretation?
The authors call for clinical-outcome studies. This does not demonstrate superior cognition or long-term seizure control.
What would clarify this: Independent replication with clinically meaningful outcomes and longer safety follow-up.
Findings reviewed · abstract
Checked Sep 23, 2026 against the linked abstract. This reading note is not a formal risk-of-bias appraisal.
27 evaluable adults, with 36 exposures because nine returned for another dose. Single oral doses of 0.5, 1, 2, 4, 10 or 20 mg followed a placebo day.
Demonstrated findings
Complete suppression of the light-triggered EEG response occurred in 40–71% of patients, increasing with dose.
Limitations & adverse findings
Single-blind, short-term laboratory response study. Repeated exposures are not independent participants; EEG suppression does not establish cognitive enhancement or long-term clinical benefit.
What might this mean? · interpretation
These findings apply to the population and methods described above.
What might this mean, and what would change the interpretation?
Single-blind, short-term laboratory response study. Repeated exposures are not independent participants; EEG suppression does not establish cognitive enhancement or long-term clinical benefit.
What would clarify this: Independent replication with clinically meaningful outcomes and longer safety follow-up.
Findings reviewed · abstract
Checked Sep 23, 2026 against the linked abstract. This reading note is not a formal risk-of-bias appraisal.
AF64A-treated mice received oral MKC-231 at 0.3, 1 or 3 mg/kg once daily for 11 days. Acute administration and other nootropic agents were also examined.
Demonstrated findings
Repeated treatment improved working-memory performance at all tested doses. Acute administration did not significantly improve memory at the tested doses. Some repeated doses reversed hippocampal acetylcholine depletion.
Limitations & adverse findings
A toxin-induced mouse model does not establish a human regimen, clinical efficacy or safety.
What might this mean? · interpretation
These findings apply to the population and methods described above.
What might this mean, and what would change the interpretation?
A toxin-induced mouse model does not establish a human regimen, clinical efficacy or safety.
What would clarify this: Controlled human safety and efficacy research would be needed before clinical conclusions.
Findings reviewed · abstract
Checked Sep 23, 2026 against the linked abstract. This reading note is not a formal risk-of-bias appraisal.
Chemical-series experiments included animal amnesia tests and a delayed-response task in aged rhesus monkeys. The abstract does not report a usable dose or sample size.
Demonstrated findings
Rolziracetam improved performance in the monkey delayed-response task and was selected for subsequent human evaluation.
Limitations & adverse findings
Selection for human evaluation is not a human efficacy result. The reviewed abstract does not establish a clinical regimen or human safety.
What might this mean? · interpretation
These findings apply to the population and methods described above.
What might this mean, and what would change the interpretation?
Selection for human evaluation is not a human efficacy result. The reviewed abstract does not establish a clinical regimen or human safety.
What would clarify this: Controlled human safety and efficacy research would be needed before clinical conclusions.
Findings reviewed · abstract
Checked Sep 23, 2026 against the linked abstract. This reading note is not a formal risk-of-bias appraisal.